Depeche Mode first rose to prominence in 1980, comprising of four original members - Martin Gore, David Gahan, Vince Clarke and Andrew Fletcher. After his departure in 1981, Vince Clarke was replaced by Alan Wilder and the line-up that saw Depeche Mode grow into one of the most important British bands of the  80s and  90s remained unchanged until 1995, when Wilder too decided to leave. The remaining trio continue as Depeche Mode to this date.

A prominent figure in the studio between 1982 and 1994, Alan uses his considerable knowledge to detail the production side of each single and also to shed some light on the internal practices and circumstances surrounding the band during each of the different recording sessions.

The editorials run in chronological order, album by album, up to 1995. We suggest you read them in the correct order for the full effect.

Select these links to read each instalment of the 4-part Depeche Mode special.

Black Celebration

Music For The Masses


Songs Of Faith And Devotion